1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Which Grains Have Gluten?


Updated November 24, 2008

Question: Which Grains Have Gluten?
Answer: Gluten is found in all grains. The gluten in rice and corn is safe for celiac patients, but the gluten in wheat, barley, and rye is not.

In people with celiac disease, gluten molecules in wheat, barley and rye trigger an autoimmune response that results in damage to the villi in the small intestine, along with other related problems.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Basics
  5. Celiac Disease FAQs
  6. Grains With Gluten - Which Grains Have Gluten

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.