If I could wave a magic wand and have one wheat-filled item become safe for me, I would wish for a gluten-free challah. Challah
is the traditional egg bread eaten by Jews on the Sabbath and holidays. With a soft crust on the outside, on the inside it’s fluffy and soft, sweet and chewy. There’s no other bread like it. Fortunately, some of the best chefs in the celiac community have developed recipes for gluten-free challah. On these two pages are links to challah recipes and places from which you can order gluten-free challah ready-made.
From one of my favorite gluten-free bloggers: “Is this the perfect gluten-free challah, that Jewish celiac equivalent of a holy grail which tastes just like what you remember from your childhood? No, it's not perfect -- it's a work in progress. But is it delicious? Oh yes, it most certainly is.” Dairy Free/Pareve
This blogger writes: “The first time I had to sing the hamotzi over a rice cracker while everyone else ripped apart the bread, I cried.” Dairy Free/Pareve
This company advises: “Try adding raisins and cinnamon for variety!” Dairy Free/Pareve
This blogger's instructions include helpful pictures. Dairy Free/Pareve
This challah recipe from Nearly Normal Cooking
, by Jules Shepherd, can be made in a bread machine. It calls for your choice of dairy or soy yogurt. Can be Dairy Free/Pareve
Challah recipe is from Chef Richard Coppedge, CMB, CHE, Professor, Baking and Pastry Arts, Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park, NY. (This recipe calls for whey power, a derivative of milk, making it inappropriate for observant Jews.)
Challah recipe using Pamela’s Wheat-Free Bread Mix. This recipe calls for milk products (making it inappropriate for observant Jews).
This site now offers two different challah recipes, one that's dairy free, and another that calls for milk products (making it inappropriate for observant Jews).
NEXT PAGE: WHERE TO BUY READY-MADE GLUTEN-FREE CHALLAH