1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Buckwheat Is Not Really Wheat - And It’s Gluten-Free

Roasted Buckwheat (Kasha) is Safe for People with Celiac Disease

By

Updated May 28, 2014

Buckwheat Is Not Really Wheat - And It’s Gluten-Free

Cooked Kasha

Photo © Nancy Lapid
Despite its name, buckwheat is not wheat. It’s gluten-free, and it’s safe for people with celiac disease. Buckwheat and wheat are from completely different botanical families. Buckwheat seeds are technically the fruit of a plant called Fagopyrum esculentum.

Although buckwheat is not a grain, it is sometimes referred to as a pseudocereal. For processing into food, buckwheat seeds must first be dehulled. The remaining seed material, called groats, can be ground into flour. Roasted groats are known as kasha.

Buckwheat is high in protein and B vitamins and rich in phosphorus, potassium, iron, calcium, and lysine. A great source of dietary fiber, buckwheat helps lower cholesterol levels in the blood.

A one-cup serving of cooked buckwheat groats provides 17 grams of dietary fiber (68% of the daily requirement for a 2000 cal/day diet) and 22 g of protein. (About.com's Calorie Count site provides a complete nutritional analysis.)

Sources:

Thomas Jefferson Agricultural Institute

The Birkett Mills

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Gluten-Free Diet
  5. Gluten-Free Grains
  6. Buckwheat is Gluten-Free - Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.