Buy or bake gluten-free hamburger and hot dog buns.
Gluten-free buns for hamburgers and hot dogs used to be dry and crumbly, but today's rolls and buns are much tastier. A variety of ready-made gluten-free buns are available in stores and online, or you can make your own.
Make sure all sauces, marinades and condiments are gluten-free.
If you like to use marinades and sauces when you grill meats and vegetables, make sure any that you choose are gluten-free. If you’re a guest at someone else’s barbecue, your hosts must be careful not to marinate your food in gluten-containing sauces and to keep your food off contaminated grill surfaces.
- Gluten-Free Barbecue Sauce Recipes
- Easy Gluten-Free Barbecue Sauce
- In Your Pantry: Making Sure Sauces, Marinates, and Other Condiments are Gluten-Free
- Where to Shop for Gluten-Free Food
Keep gluten-free food off contaminated grill surfaces.
Gluten-free food cannot be cooked on grates that have been contaminated with drippings from gluten-containing sauces or marinades. Try to grill the gluten-free food first, when the grates are clean, or else reserve a section of the grates just for the gluten-free food (be sure nothing with gluten drips onto it). If these measures are not possible, grill the gluten-free food on aluminum foil or in packets that will keep it off the grill surface.
Avoid other sources of cross-contamination.
Make sure separate sets of utensils are used for gluten-free food preparation. In particular, be careful that utensils used to handle gluten-free food on the grill are not also used on food that been marinated or coated with gluten-containing sauces. Also, be sure the barbecue hosts understand how to protect gluten-free food from cross-contamination.
Enjoy traditional barbecue favorites!
There's probably a gluten-free version of almost every classic barbecue food. If your favorite recipes are not already gluten-free, here are some new ones to get you started.
- Gluten-Free Backyard Barbecue Recipes
- Gluten-Free Memorial Day Weekend Recipes
- Where to Get Gluten-Free Beer
- 10 Recipes for Naturally Gluten-Free Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Salads
- Gluten-Free Berry Cobbler
- Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones
If You Have Food Allergies
If you have any food allergies, additional precautions might be in order. (Celiac disease, of course, is not an allergy.)