I've put together this shopping list of gluten-free food because in addition to carefully avoiding gluten, it's good to focus on the rich assortment of food that IS available to people with celiac disease (and anyone else on a gluten-free diet). All of the following items on this list are available in gluten-free forms, but you must carefully check the label on any item that is wrapped, boxed, canned, or otherwise packaged in any way.
I cannot emphasize enough that not every item on the following list is always gluten-free. The gluten-free status will depend on the manufacturer. If in doubt about any ingredient or additive, check with the manufacturer.
Increasing numbers of grocery stores and supermarkets are trying to make gluten-free shopping easier by stocking special products for celiac customers. (If yours does not, tell the managers -- and have your friends tell them -- that it would be a good idea.) Many supermarkets in North America and elsewhere publish lists of their gluten-free product online. In addition, gluten-free foods can be ordered from a variety of mail order suppliers.
Shopping List of Gluten-Free Food
All fresh fruit, All fresh vegetables, Fresh herbs and spices
FATS AND OILS
Vegetable, canola and olive oils, Shortenings, Mayonnaise, Salad dressings
Plain frozen fruits and vegetables, Ice creams, sherbets, ices, Gluten-free frozen waffles
Milk, half-and-half, cream, whipping cream, Aged cheeses, Butter, Margarine, Yogurts, Cottage cheese, Sour cream, Cream cheese, Eggs,Tofu, Jello, Rice pudding, Tapioca pudding, 100% fruit juices
PACKAGES, CANS, JARS
Plain canned fruits and vegetables, Applesauce, Cranberry sauce, Canned beans and lentils, Spaghetti sauces, Canned fish (e.g., tuna, salmon, sardines), Organic packaged soups, Gluten-free pastas, Corn tortillas
Rice cakes, rice crackers, Soy crisps, Popcorn, Cheese puffs, Potato and corn chips, Jello, Candies, Chocolates, Dried fruits
MEAT AND FISH
All fresh beef and poultry, All fish and shellfish, Hot dogs and luncheon meats (For anything prepackaged or prewrapped, check labels for additives)
GRAINS, SEEDS, AND STARCHES
Quinoa, Rice, Buckwheat, Chickpeas, Flax, Sunflower seeds, Cornstarch, Potato starch
Vinegars (but not malt vinegar), Mustard, Ketchup, Horseradish, Jams and jellies, Honey, Maple syrup, Relish, pickles, olives
Cream of Rice cereal, Puffed rice, puffed corn, Gluten-free cereals, Gluten-free frozen waffles
Sugar, Salt and pepper, Herbs and spices, Evaporated or condensed milk, Corn meal, Tapioca, Baking soda, Baking powder, Gluten-free flours, Baking chocolate, Cocoa
Coffee and Tea (but check the gluten-free status of flavored coffees and teas), Soft drinks, Fruit juice
NUTS AND BEANS
Dried beans and peas, Plain nuts, Peanut butter, Almond butter, Cashew butter