1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Gluten-Free Food Shopping

Gluten-free food can be found in supermarkets, health food stores, farmers' markets, mail order companies, and internet sites -- if you know what to look for, what to avoid, and how to read the ingredient labels.
  1. Gluten-Free Alcohol (15)
  2. Gluten-Free Beverages (12)
  3. Gluten-Free Bread Products (7)
  4. Gluten-Free Cereal (5)
  5. Gluten-Free Condiments (9)
  6. Gluten-Free Dairy Products (1)
  7. Gluten-Free Grains (11)
  8. Gluten-Free Labeling (10)
  9. Gluten-Free Meats (5)
  10. Gluten-Free Pasta (1)
  11. Gluten-Free Pizza (7)
  12. Gluten-Free Product Reviews (17)
  13. Gluten-Free Snacks (22)

Gluten-Free Food List - What You CAN Eat
Which foods are gluten-free, and which are not? Use this gluten-free food list to find out.

The Gluten-Free Diet
If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance (also known as gluten sensitivity), you need to follow a gluten-free diet. Find out exactly what that means and how to start it.

Save Money on Gluten-Free Food: 35 Basic Ingredients You Can Make at Home
If you're on a gluten-free diet, save money on gluten free food by stocking your pantry with these 35 low-cost do-it-yourself substitutes for basic ingredients.

Where to Shop for Gluten-Free Food
More and more grocery stores now allocate space to gluten-free products. Health food stores are another good place to shop. But don’t forget: local stores are not your only option. Dozens of mail-order companies will send gluten-free products directly to your door.

At the Grocery Store
Guidelines for gluten-free grocery shopping.

The Gluten-Free Shopping List: What You CAN Eat
In addition to carefully avoiding gluten, it's good to focus on the rich assortment of food that IS available to people on a gluten-free diet. All of the items on this shopping list are available in gluten-free forms.

Gluten-Free Challah
Challah is the traditional egg bread eaten by Jews on the Sabbath and holidays. With a soft crust on the outside, on the inside it’s fluffy and soft, sweet and chewy. There’s no other bread like it. If I could wave a magic wand and have one gluten-filled item become safe for me, it would be challah. Fortunately, some of the best chefs in the celiac community have turned their attention to d…

The Jewish Holiday of Passover: A Gluten-Free Bonanza
Supermarkets often carry special products that are available only during the Passover season. Because wheat, oats, barley, rye and spelt in any form other than matzoh is prohibited, many of these once-a-year products are gluten-free.

What Is Gluten?
What is gluten and why is it so difficult to avoid on a gluten-free diet?

Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
If you're looking for gluten-free soy sauce, here's a list of the brands available.

Are eggs gluten-free, or do they sometimes contain gluten?
Are eggs safe on the gluten-free diet? Here's what you need to know about eggs and gluten.

Gluten-Free Soups, Updated October 2012
Wondering which soups are gluten-free? Here's the latest list of soups whose manufacturers consider them to be gluten-free.

Are potatoes gluten-free, or do they have gluten in them?
Are potatoes gluten-free or do potatoes contain gluten? Potatoes themselves are gluten-free, but their preparation can introduce gluten.

Are mushrooms gluten-free?
Mushrooms are legally gluten-free, but your level of sensitivity to trace gluten will determine whether or not you can eat them.

Do food labeling laws require manufacturers to disclose gluten ingredients?
Do food labeling laws require manufacturers to disclose gluten-containing ingredients? Find out what manufacturers must do to meet food labeling law standards regarding gluten.

Grain Guidelines for Celiacs
If you wish, you can print this list of safe and unsafe grains and take it to the supermarket with you.

Are corn flakes gluten-free?
Corn itself contains no gluten, but not every brand of corn flakes is gluten-free. Learn what's safe on the gluten-free diet.

Is Sugar Gluten-Free?
Most sugar is gluten-free, but there are still some situations involving sugar that call for caution on the gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Pizza Recipes
Looking for a great gluten-free pizza recipe? You can find recipes here for deep dish and thin crust gluten-free pizzas here, with all sorts of delicious toppings.

Gluten-Free Granola - What's Available in Gluten-Free Granola Cereals
Gluten-free granola cereals on the market offer people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance who follow a gluten-free diet real options for breakfast or just for snacking. You can enjoy gluten-free granola cereals in the morning with your choice of milk, you can take along a bag as a snack, or you can use it as the base for a great...

Is rum gluten-free?
Is rum gluten-free? Find out whether you can include rum on your gluten-free diet.

Does "wheat-free" mean the same thing as "gluten-free"?
Does the term "wheat-free" on a food package mean the food is gluten-free and therefore safe for someone following a gluten-free diet?

Is farro gluten-free?
Is farro gluten-free? Find out if you can safely include farro in your diet if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

Is Carrageenan Gluten-Free?
Is carrageenan, an ingredient found in many processed foods, safe on the gluten-free diet?

Gluten-Free Beans for the Super-Sensitive
Beans always seem to gluten me. How can I enjoy beans on my gluten-free diet?

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter
Pure peanut butter is just peanuts with maybe a touch of salt, but most commercial brands contain other ingredients. Here are the peanut butters that are considered safe on the gluten-free diet.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.