1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Gluten-Free Granola Cereals Include Oat, Oat-Free Options

By

Updated December 07, 2011

Gluten-free granola cereals on the market offer people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance who follow a gluten-free diet real options for breakfast or just for snacking. You can enjoy gluten-free granola cereals in the morning with your choice of milk, you can take along a bag as a snack, or you can use it as the base for a great homemade trail mix.

If you're a celiac who can tolerate certified gluten-free oats, you're really in luck — you have many, many choices in gluten-free granoa cereals. But even if you can't eat GF oats, there are still a couple of gluten-free granola cereal options for you.

1. Bakery on Main Gluten-Free Granola

Copyright © Bakery on Main

Bakery on Main offers a choice of two different granola cereal lines, one with certified gluten-free oats and one without oats. The company's corn- and rice-based "Gluten Free" granola cereals include Nutty Cranberry Maple, Extreme Fruit & Nut, Apple Raisin Walnut, Cranberry Orange Cashew and Rainforest varieties. Its "Fiber Power" granola cereals, which are oat-based, include Triple Berry and Cinnamon Raisin flavors. All Bakery on Main products are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization to include fewer than 10 parts per million of gluten.

2. Legacy Valley Vegan Gluten-Free Granola

Legacy Valley gluten-free vegan granola, produced by Montana Monster Munchies, comes in five flavors: Mariah's Gold, Bridger Blueberry, Red Lodge Raisin, Cut Bank Cranberry and Chinook Chocolate. All contain certified gluten-free oats, along with peanuts. The granola is certified gluten-free by the GFCO, which tests to 10 parts per million of gluten.

 

3. Udi's Gluten-Free Granola

Copyright © Udi's Gluten Free Foods

Udi's Healthy Foods offers four flavors of its gluten-free granola, including Original, Cranberry, Au Naturel and Vanilla. All contain certified gluten-free oats. Udi's granolas also are certified by the GFCO and tested to make sure they include fewer than 10 parts per million of gluten. Be careful not to pick up a bag of Udi's Artisan Granola by mistake — they come in the same flavors (plus two additional flavors), but are only wheat-free, not gluten-free.

4. Trader Joe's Gluten-Free Granola

Copyright © Trader Joe's

Trader Joe's offers two gluten-free granola cereals — Cranberry Maple Nut granola and Loaded Fruit granola. Neither contain oats; both are based on corn flour and rice flour and bran. Both of Trader Joe's gluten-free granola cereals are dairy-free, and each contains about 3 grams of fiber per 3/4 cup serving.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Gluten-Free Diet
  5. Gluten-Free Food Shopping
  6. Gluten-Free Granola Cereals - What's Available in Gluten-Free Granola Cereals

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.