1. Health

Buying Kellogg's Gluten-Free Rice Krispies

By

Updated November 20, 2011

It's Easy To Get Confused! Make Sure You Choose The Correct Box
Buying Kellogg's Gluten-Free Rice Krispies

Many people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance rejoiced when cereal giant Kellogg's announced it would launch a gluten-free version of its very popular Rice Krispies cereal.

However, now that the new cereal is on store shelves, there's plenty of room for confusion. Kellogg's didn't replace its original Rice Krispies cereal (which contains barley malt) with the new gluten-free version; instead, it's marketing both, and most stores are selling both.

That means it's possible to choose the wrong product. I've heard reports that some people have in fact bought the wrong box (thinking mistakenly that the original Rice Krispies cereal is now gluten-free), and glutened themselves in the process.

Therefore, when you're shopping for Rice Krispies, make sure you choose the tan and blue box with the big "gluten-free" banner on it. Avoid the original blue box, since that cereal's not gluten-free.

Now that we have a gluten-free version of Rice Krispies, it's possible to make some classic recipes that rely on Rice Krispies. Here's a recipe for gluten-free Rice Krispies Treats.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Gluten-Free Diet
  5. Gluten-Free Food Shopping
  6. Kellogg's Gluten-Free Rice Krispies - Don't Buy The Wrong Box

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.