When it comes to bread, you have no choice but to choose from among the various gluten-free bread brands. Fortunately, many grocery stores these days carry frozen gluten-free bread, and you can order online to get your particular favorite.
I periodically run across claims that people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can eat breads with ingredients such as sprouted wheat or Einkorn wheat (an ancient form of wheat). Don't believe them. If the ingredients on the bread include wheat, do not buy that bread — it's likely to make you sick.
If you're looking for baked snacks like cookies or cakes, you'll obviously have to stick to gluten-free labeled items. Again, we're fortunate that most stores carry at least a handful of gluten-free cookies and may even carry such products as gluten-free bagels and gluten-free frozen waffles in their freezer sections.
Also, there's now a wide variety of gluten-free pretzels available for snacking, along with many different energy bars that are labeled gluten-free.
Several manufacturers, including Kettle brand, make gluten-free chips (especially gluten-free potato chips) and label them as such. You'll also find many brands of gluten-free corn chips — look for those specifically labeled gluten-free (for example, Fritos now labels its lightly salted corn chips as gluten-free, but not its flavored chips).
If you want something sweet, multiple candies are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million; here's my list of gluten-free candy.
Gluten-Free Cereal, Pasta Choices Improving
You've got multiple choices when it comes to gluten-free cereal: many major brands now are making some favorites, such as General Mills' Chex and Kellogg's Rice Krispies, gluten-free. Here's a comprehensive list I've developed of gluten-free cereals, including cold, hot, granola and kid-friendly products: Gluten-Free Cereal Options
As with breads and snacks, don't buy a cereal unless it's specifically marked gluten-free.
The same goes for pasta — if it's not labeled gluten-free, don't buy it. Fortunately, there are plenty of gluten-free pasta options available, in sizes and shapes ranging from fettuccine to linguine.
You can choose pasta made from corn, rice or more unusual gluten-free grains, such as quinoa. Many people have a favorite brand (you'll need to do some experimenting to discover your own), and it's possible to create pasta dishes that taste just like the gluten originals.