1. Health

Is tequila gluten-free?

By

Updated March 12, 2011

Question: Is tequila gluten-free?
Answer:

Tequila made in the traditional way entirely from the blue agave plant is naturally gluten-free. However, some cheaper brands of tequila are considered "mixto," or not entirely from the blue agave plant, and these might contain gluten — you'll need to contact the manufacturer to ask.

If the tequila bottle does not state "100% agave," then it's mixto, and contains added sugar and potentially gluten as well.

Realistically, even most cheaper tequilas will not contain gluten. But if you're particularly sensitive to gluten cross-contamination, you may want to stick to the higher quality (and unfortunately more expensive) 100% blue agave tequila — those tequila varieties should be completely gluten-free.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Gluten-Free Diet
  5. Gluten-Free Food Shopping
  6. Is Tequila Gluten-Free - Do Experts Consider Tequila Gluten-Free

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.