1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Are corn flakes gluten-free?

By

Updated May 16, 2014

Question: Are corn flakes gluten-free?
Answer:

Even though corn by itself contains no gluten, most brands of corn flakes are not safe for those following the gluten-free diet. That's because the cereals contain ingredients — usually barley malt sweetener — that contain gluten.

Specifically, Kellogg's Corn Flakes cereal, a perennial favorite, includes "malt flavoring" as its third ingredient. Sadly for those who enjoy that cereal, malt flavoring does contain gluten.

However, there are options for people following the gluten-free diet who crave corn flakes.

For example, Nature's Path Foods, a company that specializes in organic and gluten-free products, offers gluten-free, organic, fruit juice-sweetened Corn Flakes. You may find this cereal slightly less sweet, with a somewhat different texture than the corn flakes you're accustomed to eating, but many people like the flavor even better than they like the more "traditional" corn flakes cereals.

Nature's Path also makes Honey'd Corn Flakes, which contain additional sweetener in the form of honey and evaporated cane juice. This product may appeal to those who do miss the sweetness of traditional brands of corn flakes.

Attune Foods Inc., makers of Uncle Sam and Erewhon cereals, also manufacturers Erewhon gluten-free corn flakes. Erewhon's corn flakes are not sweetened at all; the only ingredients include organic milled corn and sea salt.

If you're looking for a gluten-free corn flakes option in a mainstream cereal brand that you can find in most grocery stores, you'll have trouble finding what you want. However, you can find one gluten-free cereal that may fill your craving for sweet corn: General Mills' Corn Chex. Almost all General Mills' Chex cereals — including Corn, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Honey Nut and Rice Chex — are gluten-free.

Lovers of corn flakes may not have all the options they would like on the gluten-free diet, but they likely will find a cereal they'll enjoy.

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Gluten-Free Diet
  5. Gluten-Free Food Shopping
  6. Gluten-Free Corn Flakes - What Brands Are Safe

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.