1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Can I eat the turkey if the stuffing has gluten in it?

By

Updated November 04, 2008

Question: Can I eat the turkey if the stuffing has gluten in it?
Answer: No, you can’t. Even if you’re sure it's a gluten-free turkey, cooking it with stuffing that contains gluten will contaminate it. Period. Don’t let your mother or your aunt or your in-laws persuade you to “just eat the meat from the outside of the bird.”

If you have celiac disease and will be eating in someone else's house, you'll need to give them some advice in advance. If you’re preparing a turkey for someone with celiac disease, here are a couple of steps to take:

Finally, be open to new ideas: On my first gluten-free Thanksgiving, the friends who invited me to dinner couldn’t find gluten-free bread for the stuffing, so instead they substituted crumbled-up pieces of gluten-free cookies. The stuffing was delicious — and it was one of the most touching things anyone has ever done for me.

Related Video
Spicy Turkey Chili
Strengthen Abs and Core Muscles With Free Weights
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. FAQs
  5. Gluten-Free Turkey Stuffing - Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Turkey Stuffing

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.