1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Are spelt and spelt flour gluten-free?

By

Updated April 10, 2014

Question: Are spelt and spelt flour gluten-free?
Answer: Spelt is a species of wheat, so spelt and spelt flour are NOT gluten-free.

People who believe that spelt (scientifically known as Triticum spelta) is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease are mistaken.

According to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004, foods that contain spelt or kamut cannot carry "wheat-free" or "wheat-alternative" labels.

Source:

Green PHR, Jones R. Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic. HarperCollins, NY, 2006, p. 199.

Federal Register

  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. FAQs
  5. What is Spelt - Is Spelt Gluten Free - Spelt Flour

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.