1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Which Starbucks products are gluten-free, and which have gluten in them?

Can You Enjoy Blended Drinks at Starbucks? What About Snacks?


Updated July 04, 2014

Which Starbucks products are gluten-free, and which have gluten in them?
Getty Images/Justin Sullivan

Question: Which Starbucks products are gluten-free, and which have gluten in them?

Answer: Starbucks is extremely cautious when it comes to the gluten-free status of its various drinks. According to the company's corporate customer service personnel, nothing prepared at the stores is considered gluten-free due to the possibility of gluten cross-contamination from gluten-containing products and ingredients.

"We're unable to guarantee a gluten-free environment," one rep told me. "I wouldn't order anything from behind the counter — only packaged products marked 'gluten-free.'"

However, even as someone who's extremely sensitive to trace gluten, I've been able to enjoy certain coffee drinks at Starbucks without reacting. Therefore, I'd take the rep's statements with a grain of (gluten-free) salt.

Here's what the company says about the gluten-free status of Starbucks drinks, and some tips from me on what to order if you want to take the chance.

Gluten-Free Beverages at Starbucks

We can start with water: unsurprisingly, Starbucks' Ethos bottled water is gluten-free. In addition, the shops usually have some pure fruit juices that should be safe. Several bottled Starbucks-labeled drinks, including Starbucks Frappuccino, Starbucks Doubleshot and Starbucks Doubleshot Energy, are considered gluten-free to at least 20 parts per million, according to customer service.

However, you should check the label of anything you're considering purchasing to make sure it explicitly states "gluten-free," since ingredients can change at any time. (I don't worry about the water, but I'd definitely check anything else.)

As I said, the company discourages anyone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity from ordering an espresso or blended drink prepared behind the counter.

However, I've found that plain coffee drinks (espresso or brewed coffee) are gluten-free to well below 20 parts per million (based on my own reactions or lack thereof, not on any objective testing). I've also had good (but not perfect) luck with milk-based drinks such as cappuccinos and lattes. Occasionally I do feel like I've gotten one that's slightly cross-contaminated, but that hasn't stopped me from drinking them. (For more information on coffee and gluten, check out Is Coffee Gluten-Free?)

If you avoid dairy, Starbucks' soy milk (the company's own house brand) is considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, according to the baristas. Be aware that the baristas do use the same steaming wand to steam both soy and regular milk, so if you react badly to either, you may want to stick with plain coffee or espresso.

If you're a tea drinker, Starbucks offers Tazo teas. Four Tazo flavors contain gluten: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade. In addition, because the same tongs are used to dispense all tea bags at Starbucks, you risk cross-contamination by ordering tea there. When I want tea, I ask for a cup of plain hot water and use my own tea bag.

Blended Drinks: Yes or No?

Unfortunately, blended coffee drinks pose more of a problem for those of us who avoid gluten.

There's conflicting information on whether Starbucks' light frappuccino mix contains gluten (as of July 2012, a customer service representative told me that it did). Regardless, other ingredients (such as the java chips and some of the sprinkles) definitely contain gluten, and the equipment to blend those drinks likely is not cleaned perfectly in between uses.

If you must have a frappuccino-style drink, I'd stick with the bottled, gluten-free-labeled options (all of which are manufactured by Pepsi Co. for Starbucks).

Starbucks doesn't provide ingredient lists for its various syrups and other mixes used to create beverages such as the Pumpkin Spice Latte and Caramel Hot Chocolate, in part because ingredients can vary from store to store and at different times.

You can check those lists at the individual stores for yourself (the baristas should know, although knowledge varies depending on whom you ask), and potentially order one that's free of gluten ingredients. Still, beware of the large potential for cross-contamination when ordering one of these drinks — many people have reported problems with them.

When it comes to the perennially popular Pumpkin Spice Latte, a company spokesperson reported to me in September 2013 that it doesn't contain gluten ingredients, but the syrup and toppings could be subject to cross-contamination in manufacturing (note that many people report getting sick from it, unfortunately).

See more on this:

In any event, you might be better off making your own at home — my article on gluten-free pumpkin recipes offers a great option, plus a bunch of other ways to use pumpkin that go way beyond pie.

The bottom line: plain coffee or espresso-milk drinks may be okay, but blended and flavored drinks are extremely risky.

Gluten-Free Food at Starbucks

It can be discouraging for those of us who follow the gluten-free diet to ogle the bakery case and know there's nothing in there for us.

The company's foray into gluten-free bakery products several years ago didn't go well, and Starbucks hasn't tried again. As of mid-2013, in fact, right after Starbucks competitor Dunkin' Donuts announced it would carry gluten-free bakery treats, Starbucks said it had no plans to do so. (Of course, a year later, Dunkin' Donuts had backed off its own promise to serve the gluten-free community.)

However, some Starbucks branches do carry one or two products that are labeled gluten-free. For example, at various times (although not lately) I've seen packages of Food Should Taste Good chips (those are certified gluten-free), KIND snack bars (all considered gluten-free) and Lucy's Cookies (also certified gluten-free).

More recently, Starbucks stores close to me have begun carrying Evolution brand snacks. Note that some of these — not all — are certified gluten-free; make sure you choose a package with the "GF" symbol displayed on the back. You should assume those Evolution snacks that don't say "gluten-free" are not safe.

Sadly, none of the prepared meal options at Starbucks are considered gluten-free, including the salads (which obvously could be made in a safe manner, but currently aren't).

The bottom line: If you're starving and just looking for a quick snack, you may be able to find one at Starbucks. But don't expect anything more than that (and definitely don't expect a yummy gluten-free pastry to go with your plain coffee).


  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity
  4. Socializing/Dining Out
  5. Eating in Restaurants
  6. Which Starbucks products are gluten-free, and which have gluten in them?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.