Question: Are Hershey's kisses gluten-free?
Plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses are considered gluten-free to 20 parts per million, or ppm, according to Hershey's.
That includes the traditional silver-wrapped Hershey's kisses, plus the plain milk chocolate kisses wrapped in colored foil that are sold for holidays such as Valentine's Day, Halloween and Christmas. It also includes the plain milk chocolate Hershey's kisses sold in plastic candy canes at holiday time.
In addition, Hershey's chocolate kisses filled with caramel or with cherry cordial creme also are considered to be gluten-free to 20ppm (these are listed as "filled kisses" on Hershey's website).
However, none of the other Hershey's kisses products are gluten-free. That includes milk chocolate kisses with almonds, Special Dark chocolate kisses, pumpkin spice kisses, AirDelight kisses, Hugs kisses (the striped varieties), and candy cane-flavored kisses.
Note that it's easy to mix up filled Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with Hugs Kisses (which are not considered gluten-free. Know for certain what you've got before you take a bite!
Also, the large Hershey's kiss products — the 7 oz., 5 oz. and 1.45 oz. kisses — are not considered gluten-free either, according to the company.
Note that it's easy to mix up filled Kisses (which are considered gluten-free) with Hugs Kisses (which are not considered gluten-free. The products' wrappers are very similar. Know for certain what you've got before you take a bite!
Therefore, if you like Hershey's kisses, make sure to purchase only the bite-sized plain milk chocolate variety, the filled caramel, or the filled cherry cordial varieties.