1. Health
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Gluten-Free Sodas

When You Want A Cold Soda, Which One Is Safe?

By

Updated July 01, 2014

Gluten-Free Sodas
Getty Images/George Doyle

Fans of soda who also happen to have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity will be pleased to know that most popular sodas (known as "pop" in some places) are considered gluten-free by their manufacturers.

However, before you run out and buy cases upon cases of various sodas to enjoy, a word or two of caution is in order.

First, this list applies only to the United States and (where noted) Canada; unfortunately, formulations vary by country, and what's considered safe in the U.S. might not be safe in other places. In addition, some sodas may have no gluten ingredients, but may be manufactured on shared equipment or in a shared facility, making them unsafe.

Second, these beverages are all quite processed and are considered gluten-free only to less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. Therefore, if you tend to react to less gluten than that — as many of us do — it may take some trial and error for you to find a soda brand that suits your particular level of sensitivity. (For more on differing sensitivity levels, see: How Much Gluten Can Make Me Sick?)

Here's the list of major soda brands and flavors that the manufacturers consider to be gluten-free (plus a couple of popular sodas that do not appear on the gluten-free lists):

  • A&W Root Beer. A&W Root Beer, part of the Dr. Pepper-Snapple beverage group, is considered gluten-free to 20ppm, according to the company.

  • Barq's. Barq's, a Coca-Cola company, makes root beer and creme soda. Barq's root beer, caffeine-free root beer, diet root beer and Red Creme Soda all are considered gluten-free (to 20 parts per million) in both the U.S. and Canada.

  • Coke and Coca-Cola. According to the Coca-Cola Co., the following Coke-branded products are considered gluten-free to 20ppm in the U.S.: Coca-Cola, caffeine-free Coca-Cola Classic, Coca-Cola Zero, Cherry, Coke, Diet Cherry Coke, Cherry Coke Zero, Vanilla Coke, Vanilla Coke Zero, Diet Coke, Diet Coke Plus, caffeine-free Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Splenda, and Diet Coke with Lime.

    Note that in Canada, the Cherry Coke products, the Vanilla Coke products and Diet Coke Plus do not appear on the gluten-free list. Click here for Coke's gluten-free list.

  • Dr. Pepper. All Dr. Pepper products are considered gluten-free to 20ppm, according to the company. "Note: All products, which contain high fructose corn syrup, may contain trace amounts of corn gluten. According to the Celiac Sprue Association, corn gluten is not harmful to people with Celiac Sprue disease. We encourage consumers with specific questions about Celiac Sprue to contact the Celiac Sprue Association," the company says in its Frequently Asked Questions.

  • Fanta. Fanta Grape, Fanta Orange and Fanta Orange Zero, all Coca-Cola products, are considered gluten-free to 20ppm in the U.S., but don't appear on Coke's Canadian gluten-free list.

  • Fresca. Fresca, another Coca-Cola product, is on the gluten-free list for both the U.S. and Canada.

  • MelloYello, also made by Coca-Cola, does not appear on the company's gluten-free list.

  • Mountain Dew, produced by PepsiCo., appears on that company's gluten-free list, meaning it comes in at less than 20ppm.
  • .
  • Mug Root Beer. Both Mug and Mug Cream Root Beer (both Pepsi products) are considered gluten-free by the company.

  • Pepsi. All Pepsi-branded carbonated sodas, including Diet Pepsi, Pepsi NEXT and Pepsi One, are considered gluten-free to 20ppm.

  • 7UP. 7UP, which is part of the Dr. Pepper-Snapple beverage group, considers all of its sodas gluten-free to 20ppm. 7UP makes the same statement about corn gluten as does Dr. Pepper.

  • Sierra Mist is made by PepsiCo. and is considered gluten-free (again, to 20ppm).

  • Sprite. Both Sprite and Sprite Zero (made by Coca-Cola) are gluten-free to 20ppm in both the U.S. and Canada.
  • Sunkist. Sunkist makes several fruit-flavored drinks that blur the lines between sodas and fruit punches. All its products are considered gluten-free to 20ppm.

Again, this list is only valid in the U.S. and (where noted) Canada. When in doubt, you may just want to get some plain bottled water — fortunately, that's always gluten-free!

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.