1. Health
Jane Anderson

Enjoying Gluten-Free Eggnog ... Store-Bought or Homemade

By December 9, 2013

Follow me on:

'Tis the season for eggnog ... but is that stuff you can buy in the store actually gluten-free?

Yes, in fact, it turns out that most of it is safe for us to enjoy. I just contacted customer service for around a dozen different brands of eggnog, and every one of them was either considered gluten-free (less than 20 parts per million of gluten) or "no gluten ingredients" (but not necessarily free of gluten cross-contamination).

Here's the list, complete with all the details I compiled from my eggnog research:

Most have dairy, of course (cream being a major ingredient in eggnog), but a couple of the "nogs" are soy-based, non-dairy and vegan. All in all, I was pleased to find how generally safe this holiday treat actually is for those of us who follow the gluten-free diet.

Still, if you want to try making your own eggnog, I've included several recipes. I'm planning on trying one of these myself this weekend. Enjoy!

Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world -- sign up for my newsletter, connect with me on Facebook and Google+, or follow me on Twitter - @AboutGlutenFree.

Photo Getty Images/Brand X Pictures

Comments
No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.