If you're planning to make a traditional gluten-free meal for Thanksgiving, you'll probably want such standard components as dinner rolls, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes and gravy.
I'm glad to report that these are easier than ever to source in gluten-free form. I've spent part of the last couple of weeks updating my lists of various often-served Thanksgiving foods, and here's what I've found:
- Gluten-Free Dinner Rolls. Plenty of companies now make these -- even par-baked rolls you can pop into the oven shortly before you serve.
- Gluten-Free Cranberry Sauce. Since cranberry sauce generally is gluten-free by the ingredients list, I was surprised to see how many weren't considered safe by the companies themselves. However, the main national brand is considered gluten-free.
- Is Cornstarch Gluten-Free? Lots of us use cornstarch in place of flour to make homemade gluten-free gravy. However, lots of cornstarch brands suffer from problems with gluten cross-contamination, and so I'd stick only with one of those I list that are considered gluten-free by the manufacturer.
- Gluten-Free Mashed Potatoes. My article Are Potatoes Gluten-Free? lists the safe brands of instant mashed potatoes, plus includes some cautions on other potato dishes you may encounter on the day.
If you're cooking the entire meal yourself, there's no reason not to make it entirely gluten-free; my article Traditional Thanksgiving Menu, Gluten-Free tells you what you need to know. And if you're looking for shortcuts (gravy mixes and pre-formed pie crusts), Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Shortcuts can help.
Photo © Getty Images/Brand X Pictures