1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email
Jane Anderson

What Foods Do You Avoid?

By October 28, 2013

Follow me on:

It's no secret that lots of us steer clear of foods other than gluten. Dairy, soy and corn rank high on the list of foods I see people avoiding, while eggs and legumes probably aren't that far behind.

 

 

 

There are a variety of reasons for this. For example, many people with celiac disease can't have milk products, especially at first because of lactose intolerance.Others can't have milk because it produces a reaction that's similar to the one they get with gluten.

Some foods -- soy, for example -- are quite likely to be cross-contaminated with wheat, and people suffer glutenings when they consume foods with soy in them because of that hidden cross-contamination. Others have a separate sensitivity to soy, which is a highly allergenic food in its own right.

What foods do you need to avoid? Take the poll:

Here's some more information about how gluten can contaminate several "naturally gluten-free" foods:

As I said, in some cases the problem is hidden gluten, while in others its the allergenic nature of the pure food itself. Either way, it certainly complicates things to have a long "avoid" list when eating!

Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world -- sign up for my newsletter, connect with me on Facebook and Google+, or follow me on Twitter - @AboutGlutenFree.

Photo Getty Images/Peter Dazeley

Comments
No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.