1. Health
Jane Anderson

Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List (Just Updated)

By October 3, 2013

Follow me on:

Wondering what's gluten-free (and more importantly, what's not) in your child's Halloween candy stash this year? I've just updated my master gluten-free candy list, and I've found a couple of changes.

New this year: Plain M&Ms actually are certified gluten-free, which means they contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten (read more here on Why Gluten PPM Numbers Matter). I also found another gluten-free-certified candy maker -- Sweet's Candy Co., which makes salt water taffy and other interesting candies.

Meanwhile, Wrigley's continues to reduce the number of gluten-containing products it makes (right now, the company's down to just one). All in all, we seem to have a few more choices every time I update this list.

Get all the details here: Gluten-Free Candy List. You can use the tiny printer icon in the upper right-hand corner of the page if you want to print a copy to save and use throughout the Halloween party season.

Good luck, and happy trick-or-treating!

Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world -- sign up for my newsletter, connect with me on Facebook and Google+, or follow me on Twitter - @AboutGlutenFree.

Photo Jane M. Anderson

Comments
October 3, 2013 at 6:06 pm
(1) Alison says:

Are Starburst candies gluten free?

October 3, 2013 at 6:23 pm
(2) celiacdisease says:

Yes, they’re made by Wrigley, which reports they are gluten-free in the U.S.

October 3, 2013 at 6:42 pm
(3) Alison says:

Thank you!

October 3, 2013 at 7:14 pm
(4) Lori says:

Is there a site like this for Dairy Free? Or, even better, one that is Gluten AND Dairy Free? I also try to avoid Soy and Corn and beans. Oh Good, I say, it is Gluten Free! Then I read the label and it has dairy or soy or corn. <sigh>

October 3, 2013 at 7:52 pm
(5) celiacdisease says:

Lori, since I know so many people are avoiding dairy, soy, legumes and corn (among other ingredients), I’ve been trying to note those ingredients — or at least products that are free of them — when I do specific lists of products (i.e., <a href=”http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshoppin1/tp/Gluten-Free-Bread-Brands.htm”>Gluten-Free Bread Brands</a>). With the candy, though, unfortunately, there are just too many products to go into that level of detail.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.