1. Health
Jane Anderson

Gluten-Free Vodka List - What's Available in Liquor Stores?

By June 14, 2012

Follow me on:

Despite many pronouncements from various celiac groups stating that distillation removes all the baddies from gluten-grain-based liquor, that stuff has never worked for me. NEVER. So if I want to sip a vodka-and-lemon drink (or something more elaborate that's vodka-based), I need a vodka that didn't start its life out as wheat or rye.

Turns out there are plenty of people besides me who want these alternative vodkas. As I stood staring at the huge display of vodkas in my local liquor store recently, the clerk told me that lots of his customers have been asking for potato-based and grape-based vodkas ... and manufacturers have stepped up to provide some really interesting alternatives.

I lay them all out (ingredients, opportunities for gluten cross-contamination and all) in my new article: Gluten-Free Vodka List - Vodka Made From Corn, Potatoes and Grapes.

The options range from top-shelf vodkas produced in limited quantities to commonly available spirits you'll find well-represented on your local liquor store shelves, so you shouldn't have any problem finding one or more to try.

Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world -- sign up for my newsletter, connect with me on Facebook and Google+, or follow me on Twitter - @AboutGlutenFree.

Photo Getty Images/Andrew Unangst

Comments
December 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm
(1) mike says:

Great info. Thank You for taking the time to research and share!

January 12, 2013 at 9:36 pm
(2) Jane says:

Try Cathead Vodka, gluten free and very nice

January 24, 2013 at 8:08 pm
(3) Ruby says:

What about Kava vodka or maybe it is spelled Kave? It is cheap and tastes good. Is it gluten-free? Thank you…

Ruby

March 5, 2013 at 7:36 pm
(4) Don says:

Devotion Vodka is gulten free and very good vodka.

March 24, 2013 at 4:52 pm
(5) Pdecker says:

Four orange vodka is gluten free and amazing!

March 26, 2013 at 4:29 pm
(6) Moreen says:

Thank you so much! now I can keep Passover & celebrate my BD :)

April 3, 2013 at 10:41 am
(7) sally says:

My Smirnoff’s vodka clearly states that it is grain distilled.

October 3, 2013 at 3:52 pm
(8) Mr. 1.0.1 says:

I am happy to say, 1.0.1 Ultra Premium Vodka is officially Gluten Free.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.