1. Health
Jane Anderson

Beer Made From 'De-Glutened' Barley - Would You Drink It?

By May 17, 2012

Follow me on:





This spring, Omission Beer announced it would be launching a "gluten-free" beer made from de-glutened barley in the U.S. beer market, starting in Oregon. The beer joins Estrella Damm Daura, another barley-based beer being marketed as gluten-free, and between the two, they aim to provide options to those who want their beer to taste like "real" beer but yet remain gluten-free.

From the reviews out there, both beers seem to succeed pretty well in the taste department. But do they succeed in the "gluten-free" department? That's not clear, but there are some troubling (but unverified) reports online involving glutenings the writers attributed to Daura beer.

Omission says its proprietary brewing process brings the gluten level down well below the generally accepted standard of 20 parts per million (although the company doesn't name a figure). Daura states it contains 6 parts per million of gluten -- again, well below 20ppm.

I should state up front that I'm not going to review either of these beers -- I'm much too sensitive to willingly drink something with detectable levels of gluten in it. But I know many readers are interested in these beers, and some may even have tried them. If this describes you (or if you have an opinion on this subject), I'd love it if you'd vote in this one-question poll:

Also, if you have more thoughts on this (or even reviews of these beers), share them in the Comments section below. And if you're looking for information on what different beers are available, see my article Gluten-Free Beer.

Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world -- sign up for my newsletter, connect with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter - @AboutCeliac.

Photo Getty Images/Pat LaCroix

Comments
July 13, 2012 at 12:40 pm
(1) Sarah says:

Jane – Estrella made me sick. Also, did you see the TTB’s interim ruling that Omission can’t label itself gluten-free? I hope that the final decision leaves all celiacs safe to eat things that are labeled gluten-free. I’d hate to end up in the same situation where I was calling companies to check on processes to make a final decision. GF should mean GF and safe for celiacs. All celiacs.

November 16, 2012 at 7:19 am
(2) Terri says:

I an very sensitive to gluten and most people with celiac are. The beer gave me gluten symptoms.
Something needs to be done about all theses companies stating on their packages gluten free when it is not. That statement should be there for a reason. People with celiac are jeopardizing their health if they consume gluten. We are not eating this way because of a fad. If a product contains gluten or even a chance of cross contamination because of their processing they should not be able to market it gluten free.
I don’t purchase anything if it is processed in a facility with wheat or if it doesn’t state on package that it is gluten free facility. I don’t want to feel sick and especially important to not damage my health.

January 13, 2013 at 7:21 pm
(3) Sparky says:

I am super sensitive as well and so far Omission HAS NOT made me sick. In fact I love it. An if you go to their web site they clearly state why they cannot label gf. It won the silver in the gf beer awards this year and I can understand why, so much better than the red bridge I’ve been drinking!!

January 21, 2013 at 8:59 am
(4) Amanda says:

I’m generally not super sensitive but it’s 6am and I’m laying in the floor of my bathroom after trying the Omission. :-(

May 10, 2013 at 7:58 pm
(5) Pat Coleman says:

I have drank both beers and a third beer processed in same manner with an enzyme to reduce the gluten content. The Estella Damn has not bothered me on at least 6 07 occasions. Omission while a good tasting beer has not made me feel ill, but I did feel bloated after drinking.

My normal reaction to any gluten is pretty quick and extreme.

I cannot drink bourbon, scotch or any of the usual distilled spirits without discomfort. I do find Tito’s Vodka to universally OK as it should be as it is corn based and and the only spirit produced by Tito’s.

Thank you for your blog.

September 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm
(6) Dee says:

Be careful you get the gluten free Estrella Daura — not the Damm! There are two different beers from the same maker and the labels look exactly alike. Had a restaurant serve me the wrong one! I’ve had no trouble with Omission.

September 28, 2013 at 7:29 pm
(7) Cathy says:

I have enjoyed all three varieties of Omission beer, and, though I am extremely sensitive to gluten, I have had no negative reaction to any Omission beers. I must admit that I only drink one on a given day, so I don’t know what would happen with more consumption. Even so, it was a thrill for me to be able to drink a beer again that actually tasted like a beer.

February 9, 2014 at 11:48 am
(8) Grouse Malting and Roasting Company says:

We just wanted to thank you for providing us with this information. This post helped add to our research on gluten-free labeling that will keep our customers updated with the most current information about the gluten-free beer industry.

If you want to check out our blog on this topic: http://grouseco.com/read-fine-print-gluten-free-vs-gluten-removed/

Thanks for your words! Zum Wohl!

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.